PhD and EDD Scholarship Opportunities in Educational Futures

at Flinders University

The Research Environment

The Flinders Educational Futures Research Institute (FEFRI) is located in the discipline of Education in the College of Education, Psychology and Social Work at Flinders University, in Adelaide, South Australia. It holds a strategic position in fields of educational research that have local, national and global outreach. Our researchers are at the forefront of educational investigation, are passionate about their fields of expertise, and are engaged in the continuing expansion of new and creative educational theories and practices. Current issues require considered, consultative and cooperative research development to support and sustain change in educational settings.

The Doctor of Philosophy and the Doctor of Education programs offer opportunities for students to immerse themselves in the dynamic culture of educational futures that is at the forefront of educational research. Research higher degree students underpin the future of educational progress, and FEFRI researchers have proven expertise to teach, guide, and inspire potential candidates.

Job tasks and responsibilities

PhD and EdD Research Projects

The FEFRI invites potential candidates to apply by September 22nd, 2017 to the named principal supervisor for the research projects listed below. The process of candidate identification is highly competitive, based upon academic merit and demonstrated research potential.

High-quality applicants will be paired with supervisors, and guided through the process of making a formal application to Flinders University for a PhD/EDD candidature and Australian Postgraduate Awards

  • Project Title: Where is the line? Elite athletes’ perspectives on fair play and sportspersonship in elite sport. Principal Supervisor: Dr Deb Agnew. Contact: deb.agnew@flinders.edu.au
  • Project Title: Investigating features that support the long-term sustainability of educational and school improvement initiatives. Principal supervisor: Associate Professor Helen Askell-Williams. Contact: helen.askell-williams@flinders.edu.au
  • Project Title: The role of sport in the development of sustainable physical activity and dietary behaviours in low SES communities. Principal Supervisor: Professor Murray Drummond. Contact: murray.drummond@flinders.edu.au
  • Project Title: Supporting students on the autism spectrum: Teacher professional learning. Principal Supervisor: Dr Julie McMillan. Contact: julie.mcmillan@flinders.edu.au
  • Project Title: Sport coaching. Principal Supervisor: Associate Professor Shane Pill. Contact: shane.pill@flinders.edu.au
  • Project Title: Peer aggression and wellbeing. Principal Supervisor: Dr Grace Skrzypiec. Contact: grace.skrzypiec@flinders.edu.au
  • Project Title: School bullying and wellbeing. Principal Supervisor: Professor Phillip Slee. Contact: phillip.slee@flinders.edu.au
  • Project Title: Evaluation of the Teaching Performance Assessment in initial teacher education. Principal Supervisor: Dr Trudy Sweeney. Contact: trudy.sweeney@flinders.edu.au
  • Project Title: Interventions to foster self-regulated learning. Principal Supervisor: Professor Stella Vosniadou. Contact: stella.vosniadou@flinders.edu.au
  • Project Title: Men, Masculinity, Violence: Education for Violence Prevention. Principal Supervisor: Associate Professor Ben Wadham. Contact: ben.wadham@flinders.edu.au
  • Project Title: Growing a generation of new learners from STEM. Principal Supervisor: Professor Nicola Yelland. Contact: nicola.yelland@flinders.edu.au

Procedure for submitting an application

Potential candidates must address the following questions (500 words total):

  • What is the area of educational futures research that most interests you, and why?
  • In what way can you contribute to the selected research project?
  • What do you see are the potential issues, concerns and solutions?

Applications must include the following documents:

  • A detailed Curriculum Vitae including a list of any academic publications
  • An indicative piece of writing from your thesis or published work (~1000 words)
  • Copies of academic transcripts
  • Copy of an English as a Second Language (ESL) qualification (for non-English speaking students). For details of Flinders University guidelines, see: https://www.flinders.edu.au/international-students/study-at-flinders/entry--and-english-requirements/english-language-requirements.cfm
  • Names and contact details of two academic referees

When preparing your application, please first read carefully through the following:

Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)

Doctor of Education (EDD)

Research Higher Degree Scholarships

Job benefits and perks

The scholarships pay an indexed stipend of $26,288 pa tax free (2017 rate) and generous allowances and leave provisions. Australian or New Zealand citizens and Australian permanent residents will be provided with a Research Training Scheme place for a maximum of four years which provides an exemption from tuition fee costs. A limited number of fee waiver scholarships will be available for International students. International students who are not in receipt of a fee waiver scholarship will be required to pay the normal tuition fees.

How to Apply for this job

General Enquiries: Marja van Breda Flinders Educational Futures Research Institute College of Education, Psychology and Social Work Flinders University marja.vanbreda@flinders.edu.au

If you apply for this position please say you saw it on The Conversation.